Various Nothing Much and Something More

This two-disc set from Richie Hawtin’s revered M_nus label collects some of the best and biggest singles that make up what constitutes the imprint’s new generation of producers. M_nus has gone some ways to reinvent itself since the early days of minimal techno, and the current line-up of jacking minimalism they supply has kept them at the forefront of the international techno circuit. Magda’s infectious "$8 Hour Crack In Your Bass” is here, as well as Mathew Jonson’s huge "Decompression,” Marc Houle’s "Bay of Figs” and the more recent Ambivalent track, the downright wobbly "R U OK.” Matthew Dear’s False, Heartthrob, Troy Pierce, Loco Dice and newcomer JPLS round out the set, and label boss Hawtin contributes "The Tunnel” as well. The second disc offers a generous 25-track mix by Troy Pierce, who rips through his faves from the label’s more recent catalogue. It’s not often that M_nus puts out CDs these days, and this one’s well worth it for anyone interested in current minimal techno. (M_nus)