Vancouver's Indian Wars Walk Around the Park on Debut LP

Vancouver's Indian Wars <i>Walk Around the Park</i> on Debut LP
If you live in Vancouver and have a penchant for garage rock, chances are that you spent the winter of 2009/2010 addicted to the seven-inch If You Want Me EP by Indian Wars. Well, the group are now getting ready to follow up that four-song offering with their first full-length. Entitled Walk Around the Park, it's due to drop on May 2 via the Austria-based Bachelor Records.

The 13-song collection was laid down with Felix Fung at Little Red Sounds in Vancouver. Speaking to Exclaim!, guitarist Dave McMartin revealed that the full-length would be a sonic step-up from the group's scrappy early work. He says, "A little bit more of a polished sound on this record and some songs even made it well over two minutes long, if you can believe that!"

Sonic and stylistic differences aside, we're willing to bet that this one has plenty of catchy, garage-hewn stompers. A live version of the title track is embedded at the bottom of this page.

You can see the album cover above and check out the tracklist below. Scroll past that to see the band's upcoming live schedule, which includes an opening slot for Black Lips and an appearance at Sled Island in Calgary.

Walk Around the Park:

1. "Tuscaloosa Bar"
2. "George Ellis"
3. "20,000 Cans"
4. "Train Song"
5. "Sitting on the Steps"
6. "8 Feet High"
7. "Through the Woods"
8. "Bullfrog"
9. "Old Hotel"
10. "Won't Do a Thing"
11. "That's the Way It Goes"
12. "Took a Trip"
13. "Walk Around the Park"

Tour dates:

5/28 Vancouver, BC - Biltmore Cabaret *
6/15 Vancouver, BC - Commodore Ballroom ^
6/22-25 Calgary, AB - Sled Island

* with Zach Fanta and Crowbots
^ with Black Lips