Unearth Confront 'The Wretched; The Ruinous' on New Album

Consider universal heat death with new single "Mother Betrayal"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Mar 3, 2023

Unearth have detailed their eighth studio LP. The Massachusetts metalcore crew will share new album The Wretched; The Ruinous on May 5 via Century Media.

Produced by Will Putney — who previously helmed Unearth's Extinction(s) — the 11-track The Wretched; The Ruinous mines the world's man-made misery for what promises to be one exceptionally heavy look in the mirror.

"The Wretched; The Ruinous is about the eight billion people on this planet," vocalist Trevor Phipps explains in a statement. "We've created a man-made mass extinction event and have been too slow to correct our faults. Extreme weather, drought, famine, disease, erosion of land, culture wars, civil wars, wars for natural resources, and the displacement of billions of people, is all a current reality. This isn't a future problem; it is a now problem and I take this record to talk about it."

Following the recently shared title track is the crushing "Mother Betrayal," both of which you can hear below. On it, Phipps howls of a not-so-distant "future denied" with some wicked scene-setting: "Into the fires we run / Wheels of denial we ride."

It's a track the frontman calls "a warning that we are smashing past multiple ecological tipping points caused by our dependence on fossil fuels that will forever alter life on our planet."

In April, Unearth kick off a of Europe and the UK alongside Misery Index, Year of the Knife, Turbid North and Leach. You can find those dates via the band's official website.

Pre-order The Wretched; The Ruinous.

The Wretched; The Ruinous:

1. The Wretched; The Ruinous
2. Cremation of the Living
3. Eradicator
4. Mother Betrayal
5. Invictus
6. Call of Existence
7. Dawn of the Militant
8. Aniara
9. Into the Abyss
10. Broken Arrow
11. Theaters of War

Latest Coverage