Trans-Canada Highwaymen Cover CanRock Classics on New Album 'Explosive Hits Vol. 1'

The supergroup features Sloan's Chris Murphy, ex-BNL frontman Steven Page, Craig Northey of Odds and the Pursuit of Happiness leader Moe Berg

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Sep 20, 2023

Trans-Canada Highwaymen, one of Canada's greatest supergroups, have announced a new album. The four-piece will share Explosive Hits Vol. 1 on October 27 via Pheromone Recordings.

Even before the 14-track Explosive Hits Vol. 1 was officially announced, the Trans-Canada Highwaymen — featuring Sloan's Chris Murphy, former Barenaked Ladies frontman Steven PageOdds guitarist Craig Northey and the Pursuit of Happiness leader Moe Berg — had tracks that fit such billing on the brain, with their live sets made up of one another's greatest songs.

Now, on their debut full-length, the four-piece have reinterpreted a selection of their favourite CanRock AM radio staples recorded between 1969 and 1975 — and lead off the set with their first original song, "Theme from Trans-Canada Highwaymen."

You can find the collection's K-tel compilation-inspired cover artwork above before checking out its tracklist below, featuring reinterpretations of songs by the Guess Who, Joni Mitchell, Paul Anka, Lighthouse, Stampeders, the Poppy Family and more.

"Our AM radios had helped shape our DNA and none of us had strayed too far from our inner child. Our arrested development was going to make this easy," the Highwaymen detail in a press release. "Out of the blue, Steven surprised us all with a new song that described our origin story — 'Theme from TransCanada Highwaymen.' It was obviously an Explosive Hit so we had to throw it on our growing bonfire of Canadian rock heaters. So… four Canadian musical mavens from the '80s and '90s sing the Canadian songs of the '60s and '70s. Makes total sense. As Moe says, 'Don't think too much about it. Act now.'"

First to arrive is the quartet's cover of April Wine's "Tonite Is a Wonderful Time to Fall in Love," sung by Northey. Elsewhere on the album, Page takes lead vocals on a cover of the Guess Who's "Undun," Berg lends his voice to a reinterpretation of Joni Mitchell's "Raised on Robbery," and Murphy takes on Michel Pagliaro's "Lovin' You Ain't Easy."

Pre-order and pre-save Explosive Hits Vol. 1.

Explosive Hits Vol. 1

1. Theme from Trans-Canada Highwaymen
2. Lovin' You Ain't Easy
3. Undun
4. Tonite is a Wonderful Time to Fall in Love
5. Pretty Lady
6. Which Way You Goin' Billy?
7. Rock Me Gently
8. Raised on Robbery
9. Make My Life a Little Bit Brighter
10. (I Believe) There's Nothing Stronger Than Our Love
11. Carry me
12. You, Me and Mexico
13. Heartbeat, It's a Lovebeat
14. Can't Catch Me

Latest Coverage