The Invisible Patience

The Invisible  Patience
London trio the Invisible's the groovy and nocturnal Patience is a thick, at times murky album that draws from funk, afro-beat and synth-oriented pop styles, and seems ideal for unwinding at the end of an evening. Some might come away with a desire for a little more colour and variety to these tracks, but it's nonetheless a committed performance from all involved.
There's a late-night, pseudo-tropical vibe to Patience that conjures humid after-hours clubs whose hazy cigar smoke is approximated by the free-floating pads that bassist/synth player Tom Herbert often employs. It is a lugubrious, consistently midtempo album, with vocalist and guitarist Dave Okumu crooning in higher registers at some points, but mostly rocking a soulful baritone. Despite the often-chilly synths, there's a warm analog glow to these tracks, with Herbert's funky bass lines often high in the mix. The drums are live too, courtesy of percussionist Leo Taylor
Highlights include "Different" (which also features Rosie Lowe on vocals), where Okumu's elastic guitar does its best Blood Orange impression, and the plaintive "Memories," which has a yearning feel to it that befits its title. All tracks have something to contribute, however, even if they do run into each other a little bit. Next time around, some variation in production style and sonic approach might lend the proceedings a bit more variety, but that's a relatively minor quibble to level at this confident album; these guys do what they do well, and know it. (Ninja Tune)