Silver Mt. Zion/Godspeed Offshoot Esmerine Announce 'Mechanics of Dominion' LP

Silver Mt. Zion/Godspeed Offshoot Esmerine Announce 'Mechanics of Dominion' LP
Esmerine brings together former Silver Mt. Zion member Rebecca Foon and former Godspeed You! Black Emperor player Bruce Cawdron, and the chamber pop outfit have just revealed plans for a new record. Mechanics of Dominion will arrive on October 20 via Constellation Records, marking the follow-up to 2015's Lost Voices.
The new album weaves together elements of neo-classical, folk, baroque, jazz and rock music, creating what a press release describes as "a requiem for our intractably suffering planet and a paean to the inscrutable, essential dignity of indigenous ethics and the natural world, and to modern human frailty and ingenuity."
It was recorded with producer Jace Lasek at Breakglass Studios in Montreal.
The new songs hear the group experimenting with mallet instruments like marimba, glockenspiel, piano and amplified music box, while multi-instrumentalist Brian Sanderson played an increasingly large role in the songwriting process this time around, bringing horns and acoustic strings to the forefront. Jamie Thompson and Jérémi Roy round out the band's lineup, while the record also features guest appearances from James Hakan Dedeoglu, Sophie Trudeau, Christina Zacharias, Chloe Myers and John Dodge.
See the complete tracklisting for Mechanics of Dominion below, and listen to the first sampling of the LP by streaming closing and opening tracks "Piscibus Maris" and "The Space Between," respectively, at the bottom of the page.
Mechanics of Dominion:
1. The Space In Between
2. La Lucha Es Una Sola
3. La Pénombre
4. La Plume Des Armes
5. ¡Que Se Vayan Todos!
6. Mechanics of Dominion
7. Northeast Kingdom
8. Piscibus Maris