Sigur Rós's First Album in 10 Years Arrives Tomorrow

'ÁTTA' will be available on physical formats on September 1

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 15, 2023

The return of former longtime member Kjartan Sveinsson for "Blóðberg" earlier this week foreshadowed something even more exciting: Sigur Rós are officially back. They've now sealed the deal with plans for a new album called ÁTTA. It's out tomorrow (June 16) on BMG.

Their first album since 2013's Kveikur is billed as "their most intimate and emotionally direct record to date," with its 10 tracks arriving on physical formats on September 1 following this week's digital release.

"When we do this, we always talk about each album as if it might be the last," Jónsi said of making their latest. "We're always thinking about climate change, doom-scrolling and going to hell. The world felt a bit bleak making this album, but maybe there is hope. When there is darkness, there is light."

In its creative sessions — with the band recording between their Sundlaugin studio in Iceland, Abbey Road and multiple US-based studios — ÁTTA found the trio "just wanting to have minimal drums and for the music to be really sparse, floaty and beautiful," explained Jónsi. "We're getting older and more cynical so I just wanted to move us so that we felt something!"

Sveinsson added: "We wanted to allow ourselves to be a bit dramatic and go far with these arrangements. The world needs that right now. It's hard to describe, but for me everything is always open to interpretation. People can think and feel how they want."

As previewed with lead single "Blóðberg," the London Contemporary Orchestra — conducted by Robert Ames — features prominently on the album. Brassgat í bala also contributes, with mixing and co-production by Paul Corley.

Meanwhile, the band are due to commence a sold-out tour of the UK and Europe tomorrow, with North American dates to follow in the summer, including an August 14 show in Toronto, which is also sold out.

Check out the album's tracklist below and tune in tomorrow to hear the album in full.


1. Glóð
2. Blóðberg
3. Skel
4. Klettur
5. Mór
6. Andrá
7. Gold
8. Ylur
9. Fall
10. 8

Latest Coverage