Shearwater Take On St. Vincent, Coldplay, Xiu Xiu on New Covers Album

BY Alex HudsonPublished Aug 27, 2013

Having signed with Sub Pop and subsequently releasing the album Animal Joy last year, Texas indie outfit Shearwater will be forgoing original material on their next full-length. The covers collection Fellow Travelers is out on November 26 through Sub Pop.

As the title implies, Fellow Travelers consists of 11 songs written by artists who Shearwater have toured with. This includes St. Vincent, Coldplay, Smog, Xiu Xiu, Wye Oak and Clinic. There's also a version of "A Wake for the Minotaur," which was originally released as a collaboration with Sharon Van Etten.

Some of the artists who Shearwater covered on the album make guest appearances, although not on their own song; Clinic appear on a version of the Baptist Generals' "Fucked Up Life," while Wye Oak's Jenn Wasner pops up on Folk Implosion's "Natural One," and David Thomas Broughton contributed field recordings to Xiu Xiu's "I Luv the Valley OH!!" That Xiu Xiu cover is streaming at the bottom of this page.

In a statement, frontman Jonathan Meiburg described this as his "favourite Shearwater album so far." It was originally intended to be a home-recorded EP, but blossomed into something more. The singer explained, "Touring is an expression of faith — in yourself, in your friends, in the hope that the world has a place for you."

The album is available to pre-order on CD or LP here. Meanwhile, Shearwater are working on their next album of their own material.

Fellow Travelers:

1. Our Only Sun (Jesca Hoop)

2. I Luv the Valley OH!! (Xiu Xiu)

3. Hurts Like Heaven (Coldplay) 

4. To Be of Use (Smog)

5. Natural One (Folk Implosion)

6. Ambiguity (David Thomas Broughton)
7. Cheerleader (St. Vincent)

8. Tomorrow (Clinic)
9. A Wake for the Minotaur (Shearwater & Sharon Van Etten)

10. Mary Is Mary (Wye Oak) 

11. Fucked Up Life (The Baptist Generals)

Latest Coverage