Sharon Van Etten's 'epic' Covered by Fiona Apple, Lucinda Williams and Courtney Barnett for Anniversary Reissue

Other covers come from Big Red Machine, IDLES and Shamir
Sharon Van Etten's 'epic' Covered by Fiona Apple, Lucinda Williams and Courtney Barnett for Anniversary Reissue
Sharon Van Etten is celebrating the 10th anniversary of her 2010 album epic with an epic re-release. The album is being dusted off as epic Ten, and in addition to the original album, it will include artists like Fiona Apple, Lucinda Williams and Courtney Barnett all covering songs from Van Etten's record.

Today epic Ten is being teased with a cover of "A Crime" by Big Red Machine — the project helmed by Bon Iver's Justin Vernon and the National's Aaron Dessner.

"Sharon is one of my favourite songwriters and I've been very lucky to get to collaborate with her many times over the years," Dessner said in a statement. "Recording 'A Crime' with Justin, more than 10 years after we covered 'Love More' at Music Now with my brother Bryce — and thinking about all our shared memories — it felt like coming full circle. It's an honour to be able to pay tribute to Sharon and her incredible songs. We felt like the door should be about to fall off the hinges of this version and I think it sounds like that."

Check out the cover of "A Crime" below, and expect a new cover from the album to be released each week going forward.

Along with the aforementioned artists, other covers will come via IDLES, Shamir and St. Panther.

Van Etten herself stated, "epic represents a crossroads for me as an artist. Going from intern to artist at Ba Da Bing, from solo folk singer to playing with a band for the first time and beginning to play shows on tour where people showed up. I am in awe of the artists who wanted to participate in celebrating my anniversary and reissue, from young inspiring musicians, to artists who took me under their wing, who I met on tour, and to artists I've looked up to since I was a teenager. Each one of these artists continue to influence my writing and provide a sense of camaraderie during this new era of sharing music."

epic Ten will be released digitally via Ba Da Bing on April 16, with the 2-LP vinyl release following on June 11. The album will come alongside epic Ten documentary and concert stream on April 16 and 17, when Van Etten and her band will perform epic in its entirety from Zebulon in L.A. Profits from the events will go directly to the venue.

epic Ten:

1. "A Crime" - Big Red Machine
2. "Peace Signs" - IDLES
3. "Save Yourself" - Lucinda Williams
4. "DsharpG" - Shamir
5. "Don't Do It" - Courtney Barnett (ft. Vagabon)
6. "One Day" - St. Panther
7. "Love More" - Fiona Apple

Pre-order epic Ten.