Prince Demos Treated to 'Originals' Album Release

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Apr 25, 2019

A collection of Prince-penned demo songs will be released as an album titled Originals, the Prince Estate and Warner Bros. Records have announced.
The album features 15 songs written by Prince that were eventually covered and released by other artists. Among the songs that became hits are the Time's "Jungle Love," Sheila E's "The Glamorous Life," the Bangles' "Manic Monday" and Sinéad O'Connor's "Nothing Compares 2 U."
The new collection was curated by Troy Carter (representing the Prince Estate) and JAY-Z. It was reported last year that JAY-Z was producing a posthumous Prince album that would be exclusive to his streaming service Tidal for two weeks.

Never-before-heard Prince music is coming. 💜 June 7th. Exclusively on TIDAL. #TIDALXPrince

A post shared by TIDAL (@tidal) on

As rumoured, Originals will stream exclusively on TIDAL for two weeks beginning on June 7. The album will be released on CD June 21 via Warner Bros. Records, followed by a vinyl release on July 19.
See the full tracklising for Originals below.
1. Sex Shooter (1983)
2. Jungle Love (1983)
3. Manic Monday (1984)
4. Noon Rendezvous (1984)
5. Make-Up (1981)
6. 100 MPH (1984)
7. You're My Love (1982)
8. Holly Rock (1985)
9. Baby, You're a Trip (1982)
10. The Glamorous Life (1983)
11. Gigolos Get Lonely Too (1982)
12. Love... Thy Will Be Done (1991)
13. Dear Michelangelo (1985)
14. Wouldn't You Love to Love Me? (1981)
15. Nothing Compares 2 U (1984)

Latest Coverage