PLUG Nominees Announced

Nominations for the PLUG Independent Music Awards have been announced, celebrating the year’s best indie releases. Chosen by the suspicious PLUG Cartel, 2007’s "best album” candidates include Band of Horses, Beirut, Belle & Sebastian, Cat Power, Girl Talk, Grizzly Bear, J Dilla, Joanna Newsom, Neko Case, Silversun Pickups, the Hold Steady and the Knife. Meanwhile, Canadians Tokyo Police Club, Amy Millan, Chad VanGaalen, Cadence Weapon and Fucked Up were listed in other categories. The ceremony to declare the winners will take place in New York City on February 10, 2007. Previous winners of the award include TV On the Radio in 2005 and Sufjan Stevens in 2006. To vote for your favourites, visit