Opera singer Renée Fleming "Goes Indie" on Covers Album Featuring Arcade Fire, Death Cab For Cutie, Band of Horses

Opera singer Renée Fleming 'Goes Indie' on Covers Album Featuring Arcade Fire, Death Cab For Cutie, Band of Horses
Chances are most of our readers won't recognize the name Renée Fleming, but for the fraction of you out there holding your breath for an Exclaim! opera section, this news is for you. In a move similar to that of Peter Gabriel on his recent full-length covers album Scratch My Back, on which he covered the Magnetic Fields, Radiohead and Bon Iver, among others, Fleming is going indie.

Entertainment Weekly reports that the soprano, who has performed the operas of Verdi, Handel and Strauss, is set to release her first covers album in the realm of "popular" music, Dark Hope, on June 8 via Decca. The album will feature Fleming singing the songs of the Arcade Fire, Muse, the Mars Volta, Band of Horses and Death Cab For Cutie.

Details on the forthcoming album are scant, but the covers will likely be centred around Fleming's world-renowned voice, which has never "wailed," screamed, engaged in spoken word, or sung in the nasal style of the Pacific Northwest.

Doesn't sound like an Exclaim! album to us either, but who the hell knows? Maybe the Mars Volta will sound better sung opera-style.

Dark Hope (tracklist subject to change):

1. "Stepping Stone" (Duffy)
2. "No One's Gonna Love You" (Band Of Horses)
3. "Soul Meets Body" (Death Cab For Cutie)
4. "Today" (Jefferson Airplane)
5. "Oxygen" (Willy Mason)
6. "With Twilight As My Guide" (The Mars Volta)
7. "Intervention" (Arcade Fire)
8. "Mad World" (Tears For Fears)
9. "Endlessly" (Muse)
10. "In Your Eyes" (Peter Gabriel)
11. "Hallelujah" (Leonard Cohen)