Of Montreal Detail New Album 'Freewave Lucifer'

Listen to new single "Marijuana's a Working Woman"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 1, 2022

Happy Pride! Of Montreal have announced plans for a new album — whose full title messes with the code of this website. For short, we'll call it Freewave Lucifer, and it's due to arrive on July 29 via Polyvinyl (where you can see the full title if you wish).

Kevin Barnes and co. have also delivered the album's lead single "Marijuana's a Working Woman," a kaleidoscopic sensory cornucopia dealing with themes of gender, isolation, and of course, weed.

"Like all the songs on the album, this one was informed by pandemic isolation and the psychological struggle inherent in that kind of existence," Barnes said of the track. "The lyrics are a free flowing collage of all that I was perceiving and absorbing during that time period. I swapped alcohol for weed midway through the pandemic and that is what the title of the song refers to."

These themes are said to extend to the rest of the seven-track album, which the band will take on a North American tour in September and October. So far, no Canadian dates have been announced. See the full tour schedule here.

Watch the Madeline Babuka Black-animated video for "Marijuana's a Working Woman" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

Freewave Lucifer:

1. Marijuana's a Working Woman
2. Ofrenda-Flanger-Ego-à Gogo
3. Blab Sabbath Lathe of Maiden
4. Après Thee Dèclassè
5. Modern Art Bewilders
6. Nightsift
7. Hmmm

Latest Coverage