Napalm Death Ready First New Album in Five Years

'Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism' arrives in September

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jul 8, 2020

Napalm Death have detailed their first new album in five years. The grindcore outfit will release Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism on September 18 through Century Media.

Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism runs 12 tracks in length and follows Napalm Death's 2015 album Apex Predator – Easy Meat. Their latest was again recorded with longtime producer Russ Russell and features artwork by Frode Sylthe.

"The phrase sticking in my mind when I started thinking about the lyrical direction for this album was 'the other,'" vocalist Mark "Barney" Greenway explained in a statement. "You could recognize at the time that there was a rapidly growing fear and paranoia being generated about everybody, from migrating people to people with fluid sexuality and this was starting to manifest itself in very antagonistic reactions that you felt were almost verging on violence."

He added, "I'm not saying that this is an entirely new phenomenon, but it has been stoked in recent history by some particularly attack-minded people in more political circles and, as ever, I felt that it would be the natural antidote to endorse basic humanity and solidarity with all."

Of the album's artwork, Greenway offered, "The dove has been mauled very violently by a sterilising hand and in death appears particularly broken and bloodied. However, through the violence you can see an equality symbol in blood on the chest of the dove, which perhaps demonstrates — visually at least — that equality cuts through in the end. A positive amidst many negatives then, much like the album title itself being a bit of an oxymoron — the celebration of humanity even in the mangling jaws of negativity."

A first single from the album is set to arrive July 24, though you can find the album tracklist in the meantime. Earlier this year, Napalm Death shared EP Logic Ravaged by Brute Force.

Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism:

1. F**k the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

Latest Coverage