Mawzy Unveils Debut Album 'Long View,' Shares "Better Man"

The project from Toronto-based singer-songwriter Matt Cooke is a psych-pop departure from his Newfoundland folk roots

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jan 17, 2024

Mawzy — the moniker for the psych-pop project from Newfoundland-born, Toronto-based singer-songwriter Matt Cooke — has detailed the forthcoming release of his debut album, previewed today by new single "Better Man."

One of Exclaim!'s Most Anticipated Canadian Albums of 2024, Long View arrives on April 10. It sees Cooke working in collaboration with producer Thom D'Arcy (Yukon Blonde, the Sheepdogs) to craft misty synthscapes — a departure from the artist's folkier sound while he was living in Newfoundland.

However, that thread gets carried forth by the name Mawzy, which is a Newfie term describing a day that begins before dawn. It's a fitting description of the hazy atmosphere Cooke is trying to conjure on tracks like new single "Better Man," of which he had to say:

It is a song about striving to do better for those you love. It was written during a tumultuous time in my relationship where my partner and I were having conversations around self-improvement and compromise for the betterment of our relationship. I drew on these conversations when writing the lyrics, recognizing my own shortcomings and declaring my intention to 'do better.' Although the relationship made it through those 'lost' years, it recently came to end. In writing this song I learned that love is delicate and words need to be proven through action. Releasing this song is therapeutic; I'm releasing the love that "Better Man" was written about.

See the Bee Pethick and Bryce Zimmerman-directed video below, as well as the album tracklist.

Long View:

1. Forever Wild
2. Better Man
3. All the Things We Didn't Say
4. Start Again
5. Brighter Days
6. Over You
7. Real Love
8. Single Touch
9. Where I'm From
10. Regrets & Wonders 

Latest Coverage