​Matt Mays Sets Release Date for 'Once Upon a Hell of a Time' LP

You can also watch a new performance video for the album's "Sentimental Sins"
​Matt Mays Sets Release Date for 'Once Upon a Hell of a Time' LP
Canadian rocker Matt Mays gave us Coyote back in 2012, and he's finally ready to follow it up with a new LP titled Once Upon a Hell of a Time. Before the full record arrives this fall, though, Mays is releasing a four-song album sampler on Friday (April 21).

UPDATE (9/6, 2:10 p.m. EDT): Once Upon a Hell of a Time has now been fitted with an October 20 release date via  Sonic Records/Warner Music Canada/ADA. You can see its cover art above and the tracklist below, where you'll also find a newly revealed performance video for album track "Sentimental Sins" and some tour dates.
The new record was co-produced by Mays and Loel Campbell at an array of locations, including California and New York, as well as British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec and Nova Scotia. Later this week, the first four songs to be unveiled will be "Faint of Heart," "Ola Volo," "Sentimental Sins" and "Station Out of Range."
"The full album has a pretty strong theme or feeling and I wanted that to come across right away," Mays said in a statement. "This is party rock for the heartbroken. And you can't leave a party short of tunes, or better yet, you can't leave the sad and lonely folks with just one song to cry to. So, why just release one song when you can leak four?!"
In conjunction with the album preview, Mays has announced a handful of upcoming Canadian shows. You can see the list of gigs down below.
More tour dates are expected to "fill in all the spaces and places in between" soon, and full Once Upon a Hell of a Time details should be on the way shortly, as well.

Once Upon a Hell of a Time:

1. Trust Life
2. Sentimental Sins
3. Faint Of Heart
4. Drive On
5. Howl At The Night
6. NYC Girls
7. Dark Promises
8. Perfectly Wasted
9. Drunken Angels
10. Ola Volo
11. 78's, 33's & 45's
12. Station Out Of Range
13. Never Say Never
Tour dates:
09/07 St. Catharines, ON - Warehouse
09/08 Sarnia, ON - Station Music Hall
09/09 Toronto, ON - The Phoenix (Indie 88 B-day)
09/13 New York, NY - Rockwood Music Hall
09/14 Buffalo, NY - Leopard Lounge at Town Ballroom
09/15 Oshawa, ON - The Music Hall
09/16 Ottawa, ON - CityFolk
09/29 Picton, ON - The Hayloft Dancehall
09/30 Picton, ON - The Hayloft Dancehall