Makeout Videotape Drop New Ying Yang Release

Makeout Videotape Drop New <i>Ying Yang</i> Release
It's been a good year since we learned that fuzz-loving Vancouver garage outfit Makeout Videotape had signed to Unfamiliar Records and were prepping their debut album. Now, we've got our first taste of new material in the form of the digital release, Ying Yang.

Released earlier this week via Bandcamp, the six-song collection can be downloaded for a donation of $4 or more. If you want to preview the release without dropping any money, you can stream the whole thing below.

Speaking to Exclaim!, frontman Mac DeMarco explained, "We didn't really plan on doing an EP or anything, just a full-length, but I think people started assuming it was an EP when I only put a couple tracks up on Bandcamp."

The release isn't a big departure from last year's dark and murky Heat Wave!, although the production is less swampy -- a difference that's mostly noticeable in the vocals. While that previous EP was recorded solo by DeMarco, this new release also features drummer Alex Calder. You can see the racy album cover above.

As for Makeout Videotape's future plans, DeMarco wrote, "We're planning on putting [Ying Yang] out on record with Unfamiliar in the upcoming months, but we just decided to put it out on the Internet a little too to see if people are getting groovy with it." Check out the tracklist and stream the release below. To buy, head here.

Ying Yang:

1. "Only You"
2. "Exercising My Demons"
3. "Brian"
4. "Ying Yang"
5. "Baba Vanga"
6. "Terry Paranych"