Johnny Marr Shares New Singles "Tenement Time" and "Sensory Street" from 'Fever Dreams Pt 2'

Johnny Marr Shares New Singles 'Tenement Time' and 'Sensory Street' from 'Fever Dreams Pt 2'
Johnny Marr has shared further details of his four-part double album Fever Dreams, kicking off with news of Pt 2 arriving December 17 via BMG. The former Smiths guitarist has also shared two new singles from the effort, "Tenement Time" and "Sensory Street."

The newest batch of tunes emphasizes the expansive sonic scale of Fever Dreams, mixing powerful vocals with emotional urgency. Marr wrote "Sensory Street" following "the story of a surreal 48 hours in subterranean England," he noted in a press release.

Meanwhile, "Tenement Time" is also infused by the urban landscape, as Marr draws upon his childhood in Manchester. "That's the experience of growing up in the inner city as a little kid, running around being quite wild," he revealed. "This idea of 'Forever, forever is mine' — it's about running around Ardwick, bunking into warehouses and getting chased."

The UK-born artist elaborated on how this was a transformative chapter in his life: "That was the first time I was self-consciously into culture: around people who wore certain clothes, and it was part of being a little Manchester boy, really. I have a real romanticism about that period of my life."

The propulsive new tracks follow the October release of Pt 1Fever Dreams will release in its entirety on February 25. Beyond the release of his double album in 2022, Marr will join the Killers' headlining American tour from August to October of the coming year.

This Wednesday (November 10) Marr will present an exclusive global livestream event, Live at the Crazy Face Factory. The intimate events will follow Marr as he discusses his creative process and songwriting career and will feature live full-band performances. The livestream will also allow fans to virtually peer inside the Crazy Face Factory — the artist's custom-built studio and creative hub where Fever Dreams was created. The stream will be available on-demand until Sunday (November 14).

Check out the metallic-tinged video for "Tenement Time" and a lyric video for "Sensory Street" below, where you can also find the full tracklisting for Fever Dreams.

Fever Dreams:

1. Spirit Power & Soul
2. Receiver
3. All These Days
4. Ariel
5. Lightning People
6. Hideaway Girl
7. Sensory Street
8. Tenement Time
9. The Speed of Love
10. Night and Day
11. Counter-Clock World
12. Rubicon
13. God's Gift
14. Ghoster
15. The Whirl
16. Human

Pre-order Fever Dreams.