Johnny Flynn Announces New Album with Robert Mcfarlane

Listen to "Gods and Monsters" from 'Lost in the Cedar Wood'

BY Allie GregoryPublished Mar 31, 2021

Stardust actor and English folk musician Johnny Flynn has announced plans for his fifth studio album, which was co-written with his friend, author Robert Macfarlane. Titled Lost in the Cedar Wood, the record arrives May 14 through Transgressive.

Today the pair have shared "Gods and Monsters" from the album, a song about "true love, about what it means to long for the lights on the other side, and how to tell a story without ending." Prior to the latest single, Flynn released the album's "Home and Dry" as part of a UK fishing safety initiative. 

The album was produced by Charlie Andrew and features contributions by Cosmo Sheldrake, Merlin Sheldrake and Flynn's 9-year-old son Gabriel. The 11-track effort marks Flynn's follow-up to 2017's Sillion.

Listen to "Gods and Monsters" below, where you can also check out the album's tracklisting.

Lost in the Cedar Wood:

1. Ten Degrees of Strange
2. The World to Come
3. Gods and Monsters
4. Bonedigger
5. I Can't Swim There
6. Nether
7. Flood in the Desert
8. Tree Rings
9. Enkidu Walked
10. Home and Dry
11. Ferryman

Pre-order Lost in the Cedar Wood

Latest Coverage