John Frusciante Treats 'Curtains' to Vinyl Reissue

John Frusciante Treats 'Curtains' to Vinyl Reissue
After giving The Empyrean an anniversary vinyl reissue earlier this year, former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitar hero John Frusciante has announced that another one of his solo efforts will come back to wax in 2019.

Frusciante will reissue Curtains, his eighth solo album, on vinyl this November through Record Collection. Not unlike the aforementioned Empyrean reissue, the new vinyl edition was recut by Frusciante and legendary engineer Bernie Grundman from the original analog tapes.

The single LP release will also include a download card, giving listeners access to the album in hi-resolution audio. 

Following his electronic experiments alongside Josh Klinghoffer on 2004's A Sphere in the Heart of SilenceCurtains was a primarily acoustic turn for Frusciante, who said he recorded the 11-track effort "sitting on a pillow, on my living room floor, with my back leaning against the couch." 

Frusciante captured the session environment in a video for opener "The Past Recedes," which you can revisit below. Curtains also features contributions from Omar Rodríguez-López, Autolux drummer Carla Azar and bassist Ken Wild.

Like many of Frusciante's solo efforts, Curtains' earlier vinyl pressings have been known to fetch prices over $500 CAD on resale sites such as Discogs.

The reissue of Curtains is now available for pre-order.


1. The Past Recedes
2. Lever Pulled
3. Anne
4. The Real
5. A Name
6. Control
7. Your Warning
8. Hope
9. Ascension
10. Time Tonight
11. Leap Your Bar