Japanese Rock Innovators Ogre You Asshole Return with New Album

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Nov 7, 2016

Forward-thinking Japanese rock unit Ogre You Asshole last left us with their 2015 live album Workshop, but the group are ready to make their next artistic statement with everythingsomethingnothing.

Marking the first proper studio effort since 2014's Papercraft, the new album is set to arrive on Wednesday (November 9) in Japan via P-Vine, with the digital version getting a worldwide release that same day on iTunes.

Produced by the band themselves, the full-length was recorded at Peace Music Studio in Tokyo, with sound engineer Souichiro Nakamura (Yura Yura Teikoku, Boris, Keiji Haino) lending a hand with recording, mixing and mastering. The album also finds the band weaving in a pile of vintage synths and analog gear.

While OYA have promised a new video is on the horizon, you can check out the tracklisting to everythingsomethingnothing below for now. That's the cover art up above, which was designed by frontman Manabu Deto.

OYA have a series of tour dates booked in Japan in support of the album, and you can see all those here.


1. everythingsomethingnothing
2. Free-dum
3. Lost, Sigh, Days
4. That Feel When
5. Crossword
6. Sleepless
7. That Brand New Feeling
8. moodsinmood
9. The Million Year Picnic
10. Loose End

Latest Coverage