Janelle Monáe Sets Release Date for 'The Electric Lady,' Shares New Track

Janelle Monáe Sets Release Date for 'The Electric Lady,' Shares New Track
R&B android Janelle Monáe has finally locked down a due date for her upcoming The Electric Lady, which will officially arrive September 10 through Bad Boy/Atlantic..

As you can see in a clip on Monáe's website, she announced the release date in a quick video clip that finds her scribbling down the info on a pad of paper, much like how she announced the LP title back in April.

As previously reported, the album will feature Monáe's "Q.U.E.E.N." collaboration with Erykah Badu, as well as a to be detailed team-up with Prince, who oddly enough served up a remix of "Q.U.E.E.N." earlier this week.

While it had been teased that another collaboration with Miguel titled "Primetime" featured a sample of the Pixies' "Where Is My Mind?", Pitchfork points out that this was incorrectly reported on Billboard.

While a tracklisting has yet to arrive, other songs expected to appear on the set are said to include "Dorothy Dandridge Eyes" and "Victory." Plus, there is the newly released album track "Dance Apocalyptic," which you can now listen to at the bottom of the page.

Monáe revealed in a teaser for the album, which you can also find down below, that the LP was partly inspired by the figure paintings she had been creating onstage during her last tour cycle. She also noted that the album has her weighing in on topics of sexuality, politics, revolution, sexism, how to make love and heartbreak.