Inter Arma Ascend to 'New Heaven' on Fifth Album

Hear the title track from metal outfit's latest

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 27, 2024

Inter Arma have detailed their fifth studio LP. The Virginia metal outfit will share New Heaven on April 26 via Relapse Records.

The follow-up to 2019's Sulphur English, New Heaven was forged through enduring further tumult of what the five-piece call the "Inter Arma curse," which has previously served up situations including "stolen passports in Europe, unexpected member turmoil in their ranks" and "accidents and near-death experiences," per a release

This time around, it was pandemic-related cancellations and a revolving door of bass guitarists before new low end friend Joel Moore was brought into the fold, making for what drummer T.J. Childers calls their most accomplished songwriting to date.

"It marks a new chapter for us musically as we feel we've taken our songwriting to places we've never explored before," Childers shares of the album. "We're excited to have come out of the madness relatively unscathed and feel as though we've created something completely unique that will stand apart in the sometimes homogenous extreme music community."  

The title track of New Heaven is the first song to arrive, opening the album with delightful dissonance you can tap into below.

Guitarist Trey Dalton adds of New Heaven, "This record, maybe more than our previous efforts, more fully represents what we're trying to accomplish. It's still very much us — you know, music made by dudes coming from disparate musical backgrounds and perspectives, but with a more collective and defined sense of purpose. Clarity in direction, maybe. Your mileage may vary, but we like it a lot, and we hope you do too."

Pre-order New Heaven.


New Heaven:

1. New Heaven
2. Violet Seizures
3. Desolation’s Harp
4. Endless Grey
5. Gardens in the Dark
6. The Children the Bombs Overlooked
7. Concrete Cliffs
8. Forest Service Road Blues

Latest Coverage