Iggy Pop, Public Enemy, Chicago to Receive Lifetime Achievement Grammy Awards

John Prince, Roberta Flack, Isaac Hayes and Sister Rosetta Tharpe will also receive the honours

BY Josiah HughesPublished Dec 19, 2019

In just over a month, the 62nd Grammy Awards will dole out a bunch of mantelpieces via a ceremony at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. We've seen the full list of nominees for new musical output, and now we know who will receive Special Merit Awards this year.

The Recording Academy has announced plans to hand over Lifetime Achievement daps to Iggy Pop, Roberta Flack, John Prine, Isaac Hayes, Public Enemy, Chicago and Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

Further, the Recording Academy will hand out Trustees Awards to Philip Glass, Ken Ehrlich and Frank Walker, as well as a Technical Grammy Award to George Augspurger.

"Our industry is one that prides itself on influence and paying it forward, and each year the Recording Academy has the privilege of honouring a select group of visionaries whose creative contributions have rippled throughout our culture," said Recording Academy CEO Deborah Dugan. "Our Special Merit Awards recipients have molded their musical passion into pieces of history that will continue to influence and inspire generations of music creators and music lovers to come."

The Special Merit Awards will be handed out at a separate ceremony, which takes place on April 18 at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Los Angeles.

For a full list of Grammy nominees, go here

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage