Hear Prince's Unreleased Track "Electric Intercourse"

The song comes from an upcoming reissue of 'Purple Rain'

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 28, 2017

Plans to reissue Prince's seminal Purple Rain LP were first announced in October of last year, and now the finer details behind the re-release have been revealed.

Set to arrive June 23 via NPG Records/Warner Bros., the reissue will come in deluxe and expanded deluxe editions. Both feature a remastered version of the record overseen by the Purple One himself, along with a second disc of 11 songs "from the vault and previously unreleased."

A press release notes that six of the bonus tracks "have never been released or distributed in the collector or bootleg community."

One of the new tracks, titled "Electric Intercourse," can be heard in the player below. The expanded deluxe edition includes a DVD of a performance recorded live at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, NY, in addition to a disc of single edits and B-sides.

As a press release noted last year, plans for the reissue "were agreed with Prince before he passed away."

Purple Rain Deluxe - Expanded Edition:

Disc One: Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster):

1. Let's Go Crazy
2. Take Me With U
3. The Beautiful Ones
4. Computer Blue
5. Darling Nikki
6. When Doves Cry
7. I Would Die 4 U
8. Baby I'm A Star
9. Purple Rain

Disc Two: From The Vault & Previously Unreleased:

1. The Dance Electric
2. Love And Sex
3. Computer Blue ("Hallway Speech" version)
4. Electric Intercourse (studio)
5. Our Destiny/Roadhouse Garden
6. Possessed (1983 version)
7. Wonderful Ass
8. Velvet Kitty Cat
9. Katrina's Paper Dolls
10. We Can Fuck
11. Father's Song

Disc Three: Single Edits & B-Sides:

1. When Doves Cry (edit)
2. 17 Days
3. Let's Go Crazy (edit)
4. Let's Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
5. Erotic City
6. Erotic City ("Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive")
7. Purple Rain (edit)
8. God
9. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
10. Another Lonely Christmas
11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
14. Baby I'm A Star
15. Take Me With U (edit)

DVD: Prince and The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985:

1. Let's Go Crazy
2. Delirious
3. 1999
4. Little Red Corvette
5. Take Me With U
6. Do Me, Baby
7. Irresistible Bitch
8. Possessed
9. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore?
10. Let's Pretend We're Married
11. International Lover
12. God
13. Computer Blue
14. Darling Nikki
15. The Beautiful Ones
16. When Doves Cry
17. I Would Die 4 U
18. Baby I'm a Star
19. Purple Rain

Latest Coverage