Fucked Up Offshoot Jade Hairpins Announce Debut Album

Check out "J Terrapin" from 'Harmony Avenue'

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Mar 3, 2020

Jade Hairpins — the project led by Fucked Up drummer Jonah Falco and guitarist Mike Haliechuk — have announced their debut album. Called Harmony Avenue, the record arrives May 29 via Arts & Crafts/Merge Records. Right now, though, you can get in on the album early with the newly shared track "J Terrapin."

Falco described the new record as "straddling the post-post-punk of something like New Order, Scritti Politti and Orange Juice, with a primordial sense of humour and absurdity not unlike Ian Dury and the Blockheads, Television Personalities, or the Monks."

A press release further explains, "Each Jade Hairpins song was conceived in studio, then edited and crafted to become Harmony Avenue. Each vocal approach was different — first focusing on creating stories for character-based writing, and then on less absurd emotional/thoughtful/personal reflection."

Below, you can hear "J Terrapin," which has arrived alongside a new video.

Fucked Up last released their album  Dose Your Dreams in 2018.
Harmony Avenue:

1. J Terrapin
2. (Don't Break My) Devotion
3. Father Coin
4. Yesterdang
5. Post No Bill
6. Broadstairs Beach
7. Dolly Dream
8. Mary Magazine
9. Truth Like A Mirage
10. Motherman

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage