Ex Cops Tap Billy Corgan, Ariel Pink for 'Daggers'

Ex Cops Tap Billy Corgan, Ariel Pink for 'Daggers'
New York unit Ex Cops are ready to lay down the law again, having just announced that a sophomore set called Daggers is on the way this fall. The group's latest collection slides into stores October 28 through Downtown Records.

  The follow-up to the duo's 2013 debut full length True Hallucinations features 11 new tunes, which were executive produced by Smashing Pumpkins' Billy Corgan while Justin Raisen (Sky Ferriera, Charli XCX, Kylie Minogue) handled the actual production of the record. Recordings with the Pumpkins leader were done in Chicago, with the sessions later handed over to Raisen in L.A.

While a press release notes that the record still focuses on the '90s-style alt-rock of past work, Daggers is likewise said to be informed by ABBA and motorik-styled rhythms. While "Black Soap," which you can stream down below, finds the band flirting with shoegaze textures, they also deliver ballads ("Rooms") and club-geared pop ("Teenagers"). Ex Cops' Brian Harding said in a statement of the genre-jumping results, "We are not afraid of our favourite music anymore. It's pop."

In addition to a big-time co-sign from Corgan, Daggers also has the duo of Harding and Amalie Bruun teaming up with solo artist L.P. on "Wanna Be," while lo-fi all-star Ariel Pink appears on "Tragically Alright" and helped co-write the record's "Burnt Out Love."

You'll find the full tracklisting details down below.


1. Black Soap
2. White Noise
3. Teenagers
4. Daggers
5. Pretty Shitty
6. Burnt Out Love
7. Modern World
8. Wanna Be (ft. L.P.)
9. Tragically Alright (ft. Ariel Pink)
10. Rooms
11. Weird With You