Ex Cops Announce Debut Album

Ex Cops Announce Debut Album
New York's Ex Cops first established themselves with some lo-fi recordings and a DIY EP, and they quickly netted themselves a deal with Other Music Recording Co. Now, they've upped the sound quality and are ready to drop their debut album, True Hallucinations, on January 22.

The album features the core duo of Brian Harding and Amalie Bruun as part of an expanded lineup that also now includes Kai Kennedy, Leif Huckman and Sam Bair. The sessions were helmed by producer John Siket (Sonic Youth, Blonde Redhead, Yo La Tengo).

The 11-track collection reportedly boasts hooky pop tunes swathed in hazy psychedelia. Sonic touchstones are said to include Teenage Fanclub, the Velvet Underground, the Feelies, the Chills and Nick Lowe. According to a press release, "The resulting album is a mind-altering pop pill that maintains the intimate mood of the original group's sound, but now presented in widescreen Technicolor."

For a taste of the collection's lush indie pop sound, check out the single "James" in the widget at the bottom of the page.

True Hallucinations:

1. S&HSXX (Intro)
2. Ken
3. James
4. You Are a Lion, I Am a Lamb
5. Separator
6. Spring Break (Birthday Song)
7. Jazz & Information
8. The Millionaire
9. Billy Pressly
10. Nico Beast
11. Broken Chinese Chairz