Elbow Ready 'Dead in the Boot' B-Sides Collection

Elbow Ready 'Dead in the Boot' B-Sides Collection
UK rock outfit Elbow will have their BBC-commissioned "First Steps" piece playing throughout the London 2012 Olympics this summer, but it's been a while since the outfit have released any new music. The group have yet to announce a proper follow-up to last year's Build a Rocket Boys!, but Elbow will issue a B-sides and rarities set called Dead in the Boot to sate fans till then.

A North American release has yet been announced, but Dead in the Boot will at least hit the UK market August 27 via Polydor/Fiction. The 13-song set collects Elbow's favourite B-sides and rarities from throughout their 15-year career.

UPDATE: The album will arrive in North America on September 4.

Of the compilation, singer/guitarist Guy Garvey explained that none of the songs featured on Dead in the Boot are cast-offs; they just didn't fit the LPs they issued at the time.

"None of our B-sides are album rejects. It's a different space, usually just post finishing an album when all the members of Elbow are chiming and feeling very creative," he said in a statement, adding, "It was important to us that this collection be an album in its own right so for some fans it may seem like there are glaring omissions, but these songs are the ones that hung together perfectly."

You can check out the tracklisting down below.

Dead in the Boot:

1. Whisper Grass

2. Lucky With Disease

3. Lay Down Your Cross

4. The Long War Shuffle

5. Every Bit The Little Girl

6. Love Blown Down

7. None One

8. Lullaby

9. Mcgreggor

10. Buffalo Ghosts

11. Waving From Windows

12. Snowball

13. Gentle As