DragonForce Discover 'The Power Within' on New Album

DragonForce Discover 'The Power Within' on New Album
UK-based power metal warriors DragonForce parted ways with founding vocalist ZP Theart in 2010, leaving some wondering what would happen to the band's uplifting riffs without any singing. Then, last year, the remaining members announced that they had recruited Oxford, England native Marc Hudson. Now, we'll get to hear this new lineup on record.

Embodying the epic positivity that could only come from DragonForce, the new album is called The Power Within. Even though it sounds like the ending of a Disney special, however, guitarist Herman Li promises it will be the band's best material yet.

"The last two years have been the most fun we ever had making an album," Li said in a press release. "Through writing, jamming and touring together, we have built this incredible energy and it has been fully captured on the new album.

"This time around we've really brought our metal side to the surface and made some of the best music of our career. From the fastest song we've ever recorded to the slower songs, and some things you would never expect from us, this is by far the most diverse DragonForce album yet."

Yes, you read that right -- the fastest song they've ever recorded. That's gonna be some life-consuming tablature.

The Power Within will be available on April 17 via Roadrunner.

The Power Within:

1. "Holding On"
2. "Fallen World"
3. "Cry Thunder"
4. "Give Me the Night"
5. "Wings of Liberty"
6. "Seasons"
7. "Heart of the Storm"
8. "Die By the Sword"
9. "Last Man Stands"
10. "Seasons" (acoustic version)