Deerhoof Return with 'Actually, You Can'

Watch the video for their new single "Department of Corrections"
Deerhoof Return with 'Actually, You Can'
After teeing up their massive 43-song covers album Love-Lore last year, Deerhoof have now announced their 18th studio album Actually, You Can. It will arrive on October 22 via Joyful Noise Recordings, and today, we have a glimpse of what's to come in the form of a new single.

The record's lead track "Department of Corrections" arrives with its own Jess Joy-created video, which "rhetorically questions authority" through the vessel of illustrative stop motion animation.

"Who runs the show? A dying sun? Mushrooms? In wondering why we put limitations on our freedom, we realize that the people we have put in charge also do not know," Joy elaborated on the video's themes in a statement.

According to the band, the song "is about all the marvellous mysteries of life that don't add up on a ledger sheet or figure into an AI algorithm. It's about Judas going electric. It's about how the human species itself is meaningless without a planet to live on. How we vastly outnumber our would-be masters if only we could get organized."

And where the album is concerned, the band explain that the central themes will cover "the beauty, positivity and love that gets deemed ugly, negative and hateful by the self-proclaimed guardians of 'common sense.'"

They added in a statement: "We'd hardly be destroying society by dismantling their colonial economics and prisons and gender roles and aesthetics. We'd be creating it!"

Actually, You Can will follow the release of 2020's Future Teenage Cave Artists.

Watch the video for "Department of Corrections" below, where you can also check out the album's tracklisting.

Actually, You Can:

1. Be Unbarred, O Ye Gates of Hell
2. Department of Corrections
3. We Grew, and We Are Astonished
4. Scarcity Is Manufactured
5. Ancient Mysteries, Described
6. Plant Thief
7. Our Philosophy Is Fiction
8. Epic Love Poem
9. Divine Comedy