Cornelius Gets Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Felt's Lawerence for 'Ripple Waves' LP

It serves as a 'Mellow Waves' companion effort and even includes a Drake cover
Cornelius Gets Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Felt's Lawerence for 'Ripple Waves' LP
Cornelius last left us with his 2017 album Mellow Waves, but now the Japanese pop experimenter is returning with a companion album. Titled Ripple Waves, the release is due out on September 19 in Japan and features more than a few high-profile guests — not to mention a Drake cover.

Ripple Waves comes as a mix of live tracks, remixes and new tracks. Taking on various Mellow Waves songs are the likes of Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Beach Fossils and even indie-pop cult hero Lawerence of Felt.

The album also features new songs such as "Audio Architecture" and a cover of Drake's "Passionfruit," which Cornelius recently recorded for a live Spotify session. You can check out that session down below, where you'll also find the tracklist for Ripple Waves.

As of yet, there is no word on when Ripple Waves may get a domestic North American release.

In addition to Ripple Waves, Cornelius also just released the third volume in his NHK デザインあ (aka Design A) series this week. You can order that Japanese import over here.

Ripple Waves:

1. The Spell of a Vanishing Loveliness (Rework by Beach Fossils)
2. Surfing on Mind Wave Pt 2 (Liquid Fairy - A Sound Collage by Lawerence)
3. Mellow Yellow Feel (Rework by Hiatus Kaiyote)
4. Helix / Spiral (Rework by Reginald Omas Mamode IV)
5. あなたがいるなら (Rework by Ryuichi Sakamoto)
6. 夢の中で (Remixed by Haruomi Hosono)
7. If You're Here (Recorded at Spotify Studios NYC)
8. Passionfruit (Cover by Cornelius - Recorded at Spotify Studio NYC)
9. In a Dream (NPR Music's Tiny Desk Concert)
10. Audio Architecture (Cornelius New Track)
11.Audio Architecture (Studio Live Version)
12. 夢の奥で
13. 悪くない。この感じほか