Common Gets Brittany Howard, Black Thought for 'A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2'

Seun Kuti, Jessica Care Moore and more contribute

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Aug 18, 2021

After leading listeners through A Beautiful Revolution last year, Common has detailed a follow-up album. A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2 arrives September 10 through Loma Vista Recordings.

Common's latest Beautiful Revolution features Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard, Seun Kuti, Jessica Care Moore, and returning collaborators Black Thought, guitarist Isaiah Sharkey, and vocalist PJ.

Alongside the album news, Common performed album cut "Imagine" on Today, which you can watch here. Tomorrow (August 19) the hip-hop vet will debut "When We Move" with Black Thought and his Roots bandmates on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

"A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2 was created with hope and inspiration in mind. The spirit of the album was meant to emulate what a greater day would sound and feel like," Common shared of his latest. "We were in the midst of some tough political and socially challenging times. There was still hurt, anger and pain lingering, so I was thinking, 'what is the next step in this revolution?' I thought about what being still in these times had brought me and that was a peace beyond understanding, a greater love for self, a closer connection with God, and more appreciation for my family, friends and the simple things in life. I wanted to write about that and create music that embodied that."

Common recently appeared on Howard's Jaime Reimagined remix album.

Ahead of Pt. 2's arrival, read Exclaim!'s review of A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1.

A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2:

1. Intro (Push Out The Noise) [feat. Jessica Care Moore]
2. A Beautiful Chicago Kid [feat. PJ]
3. When We Move [feat. Black Thought and Seun Kuti]
4. Set It Free [feat. PJ]
5. Majesty (Where We Gonna Take It) [feat. PJ]
6. Poetry [feat. Marcus King and Isaiah Sharkey]
7. Saving Grace [feat. Brittany Howard]
8. Star of The Gang [feat. PJ]
9. Imagine [feat. PJ]
10. Get It Right
11. OUTRO (Exclamation Point) [feat. Morgan Parker]

Pre-order A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage