Cancer Bats Announce 'Searching for Zero' LP, Share New Lyric Video

Cancer Bats Announce 'Searching for Zero' LP, Share New Lyric Video
Ontario metalcore crew Cancer Bats haven't released a full-length since their 2012 LP Dead Set on Living, but that will change soon with plans to release another full-length early next year.

The album, their fifth overall, is called Searching for Zero. It was recorded with famed producer Ross Robinson (At the Drive-In, Sepultura, Slipknot), and a press release calls it "the most melodic, yet menacing Cancer Bats release."

In a press release, frontman Liam Cormier explained that his vocals have evolved since the band toured Black Sabbath covers as Bat Sabbath. "In learning all those Sabbath songs, I ended up having to figure out how to really sing," he said. "In the studio, Ross was the one really pushing me to use that new voice I had discovered."

Cormier also explained that the album's themes revolved around the band having a very difficult period of time.

"We were coming out of what was a really heavy year for all of us, with a lot of challenges, non-stop touring and the deaths of people really close to the band. With all of these things we've had to deal with this past year, we were all at the point of saying 'No More Bullshit,' we've dealt with everything, nothing is standing in our way," he said. "We've found our absolute zero, where there can no longer be a negative, and from that point, everything moving forward can only be positive."

He added, "There are real reasons we do this. We love being in this band, and we love the people that we're lucky enough to share this with."

  Searching for Zero will arrive on March 10 via the band's new label home New Damage Records. In the meantime, a lyric video for "Arsenic in the Year of the Snake" is available below. It's another anthemic track that offers heavy riffs, a pummelling rhythm section and Cormier's throat-shredding yelps.

Searching For Zero:

1. Satellites
2. True Zero
3. Arsenic In The Year Of The Snake
4. Beelzebub 
5. Devil's Blood
6. Cursed With A Conscience 
7. All Hail
8. Buds
9. Dusted
10. No More Bullshit
11. Rust And Bone (iTunes exclusive)