Cadence Weapon Announces New Album 'Parallel World'

Watch a video for his new "SENNA" single with Jacques Greene

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Feb 19, 2021

Canadian hip-hop hero Cadence Weapon is back. Today, the Edmonton-born, Toronto-based rapper has announced he will release a new album called Parallel World. And to give us an idea what to expect, he's shared a new track called "SENNA," which has arrived alongside a video.

Parallel World will be release on April 30 via eOne Music. As a press release explains, it's "an album that seeks to unearth the alternate reality that lies beneath the surface of our society, a record that functions as a mirror that exposes the distortions and inequalities that are typically ignored."

The upcoming album will feature a few guest spots, including from the likes of Backxwash, Fat Tony and Jimmy Edgar.

As for "SENNA," the track comes as a collaboration with Jacques Greene and was inspired by legendary Brazilian F1 driver Ayrton Senna.

As a press release explains: "Upon working on the track with Jacques, 'SENNA' began flowing in Cadence's head like a mantra; leading him to create a song about self-determination and taking the road less travelled. Musically, the tune embodies the spirit of early UK grime, but the result is completely fresh."

Cadence himself added the following:

Jacques Greene produced "High Rise" and "The Host" on my self-titled album from 2018, and I was featured on "Night Service" from his 2019 album Dawn Chorus. When we work together, we usually create songs that exist between the margins of genre. Whenever we tap into a vibe that feels like we're verging into new sonic territory and we don't know what to call it, we usually lean into that feeling. That's what we did on "SENNA."

You can watch the video for "SENNA" below.

The visual was produced by Pique and was created with support of the MVP Project — a joint initiative of RBCxMusic and the Prism Prize (administered by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television).

As previously reported, Cadence Weapon is set to release the new book Bedroom Rapper in 2022.

Parallel World:

1. Africville's Revenge
2. On Me (ft. Manga Saint Hilaire and Strict Face)
3. Play No Games
4. SENNA (ft. Jacques Greene)
5. Skyline
6. WATER (ft. Fat Tony and Jimmy Edgar)
7. Eye to Eye
8. Ghost (ft. Backxwash)
9. Hard to Find
10. Connect

Pre-order Parallel World.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage