Beirut Announces New Album 'Hadsel,' Shares Single "So Many Plans"

BY Alex HudsonPublished Aug 30, 2023

Throwing back to an era when horns and ukuleles habitually appeared within the same song, aughts indie dude Beirut has announced a new album. Hadsel is out November 10 via songwriter Zach Condon's own Pompeii Records. The single "So Many Plans" is out now.

The album is named after an island region in northern Norway, where Condon wrote the album. He worked on it in the octagonal Hadsel Church, a drawing of which appears on the cover artwork.

"During my time in Hadsel, I worked hard on the music, lost in a trance and stumbling blindly through my own mental collapse that I had been pushing aside since I was a teenager," Condon said in a statement. "The few hours of light would expose the unfathomable beauty of the mountains and the fjords, and the hours-long twilights would fill me with subdued excitement. I'd like to believe that scenery is somehow present in the music."

Hear the very mid-'00s-sounding "So Many Plans" below, and see Hadsel's tracklist below that.

This is the follow-up to 2019's Gallipoli. The rarities compilation Artifacts followed in 2021.


1. Hadsel
2. Arctic Forest
3. Baion
4. So Many Plans
5. Melbu
6. Stokmarknes
7. Island Life
8. Spillhaugen
9. January 18th
10. Süddeutsches Ton-Bild-Studio
11. The Tern
12. Regulatory

Latest Coverage