Bahamas Announces 'Barchords'

Bahamas Announces 'Barchords'
If you managed to catch Toronto-based folkie Bahamas (aka Afie Jurvanen) on his frequent North American tours the last while, you probably caught a few newer numbers that weren't on his acclaimed debut LP Pink Strat. But even if you didn't see him trot out the fresh goods, you'll be able to hear them early next year on his newly announced sophomore album Barchords.

The new LP arrives February 7 on Universal/Republic in Canada and on Brushfire Records in the U.S. Like his first outing, the 12 songs on Barchords allegedly ply the singer's soulful vocals with sparse folk arrangements, but the disc is said to cover anything from understated blues affairs ("Lost in the Light") to pop ("Caught Me Thinkin," which is claimed to already be a live favourite). You can check out the tracklisting below and the cover above.

While Barchords arrives in 2012, Bahamas has offered up one final gift this holiday season in the form of a cover of the Band's "Christmas Must Be Tonight." You can check out his rustic holiday take, which appears on the recently released This Warm December: A Brushfire Holiday, Volume 2, at the bottom of the page.


1. "Lost in the Light"
2. "Caught Me Thinkin"
3. "Montreal"
4. "OK Alright I'm Alive"
5. "Never Again"
6. "Overjoyed"
7. "I Got You Babe"
8. "Any Other Way"
9. "Snow Plow"
10. "Your Sweet Touch"
11. "Time and Time Again"
12. "Be My Witness"

Bahamas - Christmas Must Be Tonight by Brushfire Records