Ayra Starr Announces Sophomore Album 'The Year I Turned 21'

The follow-up to 2021's '19 & Dangerous' features collaborations with Giveon, Anitta, Coco Jones and more

BY Megan LaPierrePublished May 1, 2024

Afrobeats showstopper Arya Starr has announced her highly anticipated sophomore album — the follow-up to her watershed 2021 debut, 19 & Dangerous

The Year I Turned 21 drops on May 31 via Universal Music, the artist announced on social media. She also shared the album artwork and the tracklist, including previous singles "Rhythm & Blues" and "Commas," which you can find in full below. The 14-track collection features collaborations with Giveon, Anitta, Coco Jones, Asake, Seyi Vibez and Milar.

Starr was already knee-deep into her sonic evolution when Exclaim! caught up with her during her "bittersweet" world tour last summer. "[My upcoming album] will mostly show how I have grown from when I was 19 to 21, [and this] will reflect in the songs I write and my delivery," she said at the time.

The Year I Turned 21:

1. Birds Sing of Money
2. Goodbye (Warm Up) (feat. Asake)
3. Commas
4. Woman Commando (feat. Anitta and Coco Jones)
5. Control
6. Lagos Love Story
7. Rhythm & Blues
8. 21
9. Last Heartbreak Song (feat. Giveon)
10. Bad Vibes (feat. Seyi Vibez)
11. Orun
12. Jazzy's Song
13. 1942 (feat. Milar)
14. The Kids Are Alright

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage