At the Gates Unveil New Album 'The Nightmare of Being'

At the Gates Unveil New Album 'The Nightmare of Being'
Swedish metal heroes At the Gates have finally announced their new album. It's called The Nightmare of Being and will arrive on July 2 via Century Media.

The album marks the follow-up to 2018's To Drink from the Night Itself, and it was recorded in various studios in Sweden. Jens Bogren — who worked with the group on 2014's At War with Reality — mixed and mastered the album. The album's visual concept, meanwhile, was developed by artist Eva Nahon.

"The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers," said vocalist Tomas Lindberg in a statement. "Trying to understand this way of looking at the world. It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative…"

He also added: "It still sounds like At the Gates, 100 percent. It is just more of everything…"

You can check out the newly revealed album art above, while the tracklist is below.

The Nightmare of Being:

1. Spectre of Extinction

2. The Paradox

3. The Nightmare of Being

4. Garden of Cyrus

5. Touched by the White Hands of Death

6. The Fall into Time

7. Cult of Salvation

8. The Abstract Enthroned

9. Cosmic Pessimism

10. Eternal Winter of Reason