Arca Details New Album 'KicK iii,' Shares "Electra Rex"

Arca Details New Album 'KicK iii,' Shares 'Electra Rex'
Arca has announced yet another new album, KicK iii, which is due on the same day as its forerunner, KICK ii, on December 3 via XL.

As per a statement from Arca, "KicK iii is the most incendiary entry in the kick universe. The album is a portal directly into the more manic, violently euphoric and aggressively psychedelic sound palettes in the series. News of KicK iii comes just weeks after the producer announced KICK ii, which has since been previewed by singles "Prada" and "Rakata."

The producer has also shared new single "Electra Rex" alongside a Carlota Guerrero–directed video. It's the second single from the record following "Incendio." As Arca explained in a statement, "Electra Rex" is "a new archetype I propose in reference to commonly understood ideas of Freud regarding the oedipal complex."

She continued:

Oedipus Rex kills the father and unknowingly making love to the mother. Electra complex posits the binary opposite: killing the mother and unknowingly making love to the father. And so I am the first to propose a nonbinary psychosexual narrative to avoid falling into the same generational tragic blind spots. Electra Rex, a merging of both names, an integration of both Oedipus Rex and Electra: Electra Rex it kills both parents and has sex with itself, and chooses to live.

See the video for "Electra Rex" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

KicK iii:

1. Bruja
2. Incendio
3. Morbo
4. Fiera
5. Skullqueen
6. Electra Rex
7. Ripples
8. Rubberneck
9. Señorita
10. My 2
11. Intimate Flesh
12. Joya

Pre-order KicK iii.