Alex Lifeson's Envy of None Announce New EP 'That Was Then, This Is Now'

It follows the project's 2022 self-titled debut album

Photo: Richard Sibbald

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Apr 20, 2023

Envy of None — the 2021-formed project from Rush's Alex Lifeson, Andy Curran, Maiah Wayne and Alfio Annibalini — have announced their return with a new EP.

That Was Then, This Is Now arrives on June 9 via Kscope. It follows the band's 2022 self-titled debut album, of which a new reissue will be available on April 22 in honour of Record Store Day.

The EP consists of two remixes of album tracks, as well as "Lethe River" and "You'll Be Sorry" — previously only included in the deluxe edition of the record. Closing track "That Was Then" is a never-before-heard new tune from the band.

"Very happy to say that chapter 2 for Envy of None has officially started," bassist Curran, formerly of Coney Hatch, said in a statement. "We have a brand new song called 'That Was Then,' which marks the first new track we've recorded since our debut album release almost a year ago."

He added, "The new EP has that song sandwiched between some really trippy remixes that we had some serious fun creating. We're also looking forward to sharing all of these songs in 360 surround sound to take it one step further. Stay tuned for more cool news around the corner for EON…"

See the EP tracklisting below.

That Was Then, This Is Now:

1. Lethe River
2. You'll Be Sorry
3. Dog's Life (Remix)
4. Dumb (Der Dummkopf Remix)
5. That Was Then

Pre-order That Was Then, This Is Now.

Latest Coverage