Refused Return with First New Album in 17 Years

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Apr 27, 2015

Even after announcing their "final" reunion shows in 2012, it doesn't look as if Refused are fucking dead after all. Following the recent announcement of a summer tour with Faith No More, the Swedish hardcore twisters have announced their first full-length in 17 years. Titled Freedom, it arrives June 30 through Epitaph.

A press release explains that the album, which follows 1998's iconic The Shape of Punk to Come, had been in the working stages for years. While drummer David Sandström, guitarist Kristofer Steen and bassist Magnus Flagge had been prepping tunes together for "a new, vocal-less band," by the time the outfit reunited in 2012, they began to contemplate the concept of making it a record as Refused.

"It's not a reunion anymore," vocalist Dennis Lyxzén said in a statement. "This is one of the most radical things we've ever done, both musically and lyrically."

In regards to following up the classic The Shape of Punk to Come, the band were apparently inspired to make something just as, if not more, impactful.

Sandström said: "Nobody wanted us to fuck with the image of the band who makes a great album and splits up. Nobody wanted us to dilute it. That actually provoked us."

Produced by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Arcade Fire), the 10-song effort was tracked without longtime guitarist Jon Brännström, who reported he had been fired from Refused in 2014.

First single "Elektra" and "366" were co-written with Swedish songwriter/producer Shellback, who had previously worked with the likes of Taylor Swift and Britney Spears. You can stream the single, which features metallic, off-kilter licks and Lyxzén's determined screams of "nothing has changed," down below.

As previously reported, Refused are hitting Montebello, QC's Amnesia Rockfest this summer, and also have a show coming up in Toronto with Faith No More. They've now added more U.S. club shows throughout the spring, as well as some European festival dates. You'll find all of the upcoming show specifics beneath Freedom's tracklisting.


1. Elektra
2. Old Friends / New War
3. Dawkins Christ
4. Françafrique
5. Thought Is Blood
6. War On The Palaces
7. Destroy The Man
8. 366
9. Servants Of Death
10. Useless Europeans

Tour dates:

05/02 Meerhout, Belgium - Groezrock
05/22 Hünxe, Germany - Ruhrpott Rodeo Open Air Festival
05/24 Las Vegas, NV - Punk Rock Bowling & Music Festival
05/25 Santa Ana, CA - The Observatory
05/26 Los Angeles, CA - The Roxy Theatre
05/28 San Francisco, CA - Great American Music Hall
05/29 Portland, OR - Doug Fir Lounge
05/30 Seattle, WA - The Crocodile
05/31 Chicago, IL - Double Door
06/01 Boston, MA - The Sinclair
06/03 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom
06/04 Brooklyn, NY - Music Hall of Williamsburg
06/05 Washington, DC - Rock & Roll Hotel
06/20 Montebello, QC - Amnesia Rockfest
06/27 Seinäjoki, Finland - Provinssi
07/02 Gdynia, Poland - Open'er Festival
07/11 Collalbo, Italy - Rock am Ring
07/16 Viveiro, Spain - Resurrection Fest
07/17 Tønsberg, Norway - Slottsfjell
07/18 Tromso, Norway - Bukta Tromso Open Air Festival
07/30 Atlanta, GA - Masquerade Music Park *
08/01 Philadelphia, PA - Mann Center *
08/02 Columbia, MA - Merriweather Post Pavilion *
08/04 Boston, MA - Blue Hills Bank Pavilion *
08/05 New York, NY - Madison Square Garden *
08/07 Toronto, ON - Ricoh Coliseum *
08/28 Leeds, England - Leeds Festival
08/29 Gräfenhainichen, Germany - Pure & Crafted Festival
08/30 Reading, England - Reading Festival

* with Faith No More

Latest Coverage