​Wintersleep's Paul Murphy Plots New Postdata LP, Premieres "Evil" and "Black Cloud"

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Mar 26, 2018

Wintersleep frontman Paul Murphy has revealed plans to return to his Postdata project. Under that moniker, he'll release a new album titled Let's Be Wilderness on May 18 via Paper Bag Records.
Having always featured a revolving door of collaborators, this Postdata effort hears Murphy working with Frightened Rabbit's Grant Hutchison and Andy Monaghan, as well as his Wintersleep bandmates Loel Campbell and Tim D'Eon, and Blonde Redhead's Simone Pace. The record was produced by Tony Doogan.
Thematically, the new songs toy with the notions of familiarity and mystery, as well as the duality between "the desire for warmth and community, and the burrowing, unavoidable reality that, one day, it will be no more."
"You go through a lot of different emotions," Murphy explained in a statement. "Getting older is a theme that's present in a lot of the writing."
The first listen to Let's Be Wilderness has arrived with a pair of album tracks. Scroll past the complete album tracklisting to stream both "Evil" and "Black Cloud" down below. The album is currently available for pre-order here.
You'll also find Postdata's upcoming live itinerary listed below.
Postdata previously released a self-titled record in 2010, as well as a holiday offering aptly titled A Holiday Offering.
Let's Be Wilderness:
1. Wilderness
2. Black Cloud
3. Gravity
4. Pasture
5. Erase Your Heart
6. Evil
7. Ithaca
8. Fields and Valleys
9. Cling To Me
10. Window
Tour dates:
05/26 Toronto, ON – The Drake
05/31 Halifax, NS – The Seahorse Tavern
06/01 Fredericton, NB – The Capital Complex
06/02 Moncton, NB – Tide & Boar

Latest Coverage