​Whitney Rose Reveals 'South Texas Suite' EP

​Whitney Rose Reveals 'South Texas Suite' EP
Following the release of 2015's Heartbreaker of the Year, Prince Edward Island's Whitney Rose inked a deal with Six Shooter Records, and now she's unveiled details for her first release from the label. Rose will deliver a new EP titled South Texas Suite on January 27.
Despite her Maritime roots, Rose recently relocated to Austin, and the new record serves as a love letter to her new home state of Texas. The upcoming six-song set also marks the singer-songwriter's first shot at self-producing.
She made the record over two days at Ameripolitan Studios in Austin and was joined by the likes of Redd Volkaert, Earl Poole Ball, Kevin Smith and Tom Lewis, whose collective credits include work with Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson and the Mavericks. Her regular band (consisting of Lewis, Bryce Clark, James Shelton and Sophia Johnson) also appear on the EP, as do guest spots from fiddler Erick Hokkanen and accordion player Michael Guerra.
Rose puts her own perspective on the culture and rich musical traditions of Texas on new original songs like the waltzy "Three Minute Love Affair," feminist honky-tonk tune "My Boots," the ballad-leaning "Lookin' Back on Luckenbach" and instrumental closer "How 'Bout a Hand for the Band" while she affectionately mined other songwriters for "Analog" (by Brennan Leigh) and "Bluebonnets for My Baby" (by Teri Joyce).
You can get introduced to the retro-tinged country songwriter's latest work by watching a mini-doc about South Texas Suite down below. Beyond that, you can also stream lead single "My Boots."

South Texas Suite EP:

1. Three Minute Love Affair
2. Analog
3. My Boots
4. Bluebonnets for My Baby
5. Lookin' Back on Luckenbach
6. How 'Bout a Hand for the Band