Vancouver's Wars Announce Hardcore-Inspired Album

Vancouver's Wars Announce Hardcore-Inspired Album
Vancouver outfit Wars have previously released a couple of albums of fun-loving pop punk, and now they're back with a third collection. This one is called FaceTime: Return to Mushroom Island, We Will Smoke Again, and it's due out on April 14 through frontman Chris Van Der Laan's Boat Dreams from the Hill label.

Unlike the pop punk leanings of the last couple of albums, FaceTime favours punishing hardcore. The music was written and recorded entirely in just two rehearsals, meaning that its genesis was even speedier than Wars' last two albums. It ultimately took over two years to finish, however, because Van Der Laan struggled to lay down the screamed vocals.

Van Der Laan said in a statement, "It was painful! I've only visited the doctor's twice in the last decade and both times were on account of injuries I sustained trying to lay the vocals down for this album."

The frontman ultimately recruited some local screamers to help him out, with contributors including Sean Hawryluk from Baptists, Jon Redditt from War Baby, Giles Roy from Woolworm and Zoë Verkuylen from Baby Control.

The album will be released on cassette and as a pay-what-you-want download on Bandcamp. That's the album cover above and the tracklist below. Presumably, the track "(Not) Single Dad" is a sequel to Wars' prior song "Single Dad." And we'd be willing to bet that Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson doesn't actually appear on the song "Caught in the Mosh w/ Gregor Robertson."

The entire album is 10 minutes long. Digital copies come with a bonus cut called "Territorial Puddings" (not to be confused with Nirvana's "Territorial Pissings").

FaceTime: Return to Mushroom Island, We Will Smoke Again:

1. Stapled to the Start

2. The Shots Pt II

3. Caught In The Mosh w/ Gregor Robertson
4. Portal Is a Vortex

5. Lunch Is a Place

6. History's Favorite Baking

7. Stairway to Evan

8. (Not) Single Dad

9. Re: The Weather / Friends Always

10. Penultimate Please

11. Territorial Puddings (digital only)