Unknown Mortal Orchestra Detail New Double Album 'V,' Share Video for Lead Single "Layla"

Arriving March 17

BY Kaelen BellPublished Feb 2, 2023

Last year, Unknown Mortal Orchestra announced a world tour in support of a forthcoming double album and shared the song "I Killed Captain Cook," which came attached to a video starring frontperson Ruban Neilson's mother Deedee Aipolani Nielson.

Now, we've got some details about that double album — V arrives March 17 on Jagjaguwar, and will feature 14 songs, including "I Killed Captain Cook" and today's new single "Layla," which comes attached to a video by Vira-Lata. 

In a press release, Nielson said that the album was inspired by West Coast AOR, classic hits, off-kilter pop and Hawaiian hapa haole music. V was created in Palm Springs, CA, and Hilo, HI, and features contributions from Nielson's brother Kody and their father, saxophonist and flutist Chris Nielson. 

"In Hawaii, everything shifted off of me and my music," said Nielson. "Suddenly, I was spending more time figuring out what others need and what my role is within my family. I also learned that things I thought were true of myself are bigger than I thought. My way of making mischief — that's not just me — that's my whole Polynesian side. I thought I was walking away from music to focus on family, but the two ended up connecting."

V is the follow-up to 2018's Sex & Food and IC-01 Hanoi. Check out the "Layla" video, plus the V tracklist, below. 


1. The Garden
2. Guilty Pleasures
3. Meshuggah
4. The Widow
5. In the Rear View
6. That Life
7. Layla
8. Shin Ramyun
9. Weekend Run
10. The Beach
11. Nadja
12. Keaukaha
13. I Killed Captain Cook
14. Drag

Pre-order V.

Latest Coverage