Ulrich Schnauss Discovers 'A Long Way to Fall' on New LP

Ulrich Schnauss Discovers 'A Long Way to Fall' on New LP
Shoegaze-leaning German production master Ulrich Schnauss has taken a break from his recent collaborative outings, such as this year's Underrated Silence LP with Mark Peters, to record a new solo album.

The release is called A Long Way to Fall and marks his fourth solo full-length overall. In a press release, Schnauss promised a change in direction with the following statement:

Throughout the last decade, I recorded three albums that were trying to translate the early '90s shoegaze aesthetic into an electronic context. After finishing the last album, [2007's] Goodbye, I felt a need for a change of direction. At the same time, my music taste was changing drastically…This provided the main inspiration of trying to record an album that would celebrate the synthesizer as the very capable musical instrument that it is, but without the need to disguise them behind a wall of echo and reverb.

A Long Way to Fall will be released early next year via the artist's own Scripted Realities label. For a taste of what's in store, the title track can be streamed and downloaded here.

A Long Way to Fall:

1. Her And The Sea
2. Broken Homes
3. Like A Ghost In Your Own Life
4. A Long Way To Fall
5. I Take Comfort In Your Ignorance
6. A Forgotten Birthday
7. The Weight Of Darkening Skies
8. Borrowed Time
9. Ten Years
10. A Ritual In Time And Death