To Rococo Rot Announce Arto Lindsay-Featuring 'Instrument'

BY Alex HudsonPublished Apr 25, 2014

It's been a few years since we've heard much from To Rococo Rot, since the German electronic instrumentalists haven't released an album since 2010's Speculation. Now, the trio have confirmed that a new full-length is on the way: Instrument will arrive through City Slang on July 21.

This is the group's eighth album, and it features guest vocals from experimental vet Arto Lindsay on three tracks. One of those songs is the moodily atmospheric electronic cut "Many Descriptions," which can be streamed at the bottom of this page. Also below, see Instrument's tracklist.

The band's Robert Lippok said in a statement, "I think maybe we've come in a way back to where we started. We've been through a lot of experimenting, buying new gear, trying this and that with electronic and non-electronic stuff."

The album can be pre-ordered on CD or 180-gram vinyl here. The digital version can be pre-ordered on iTunes.


1. Many Descriptions (ft. Arto Lindsay)
2. Besides
3. Down in the Traffic
4. Classify (ft. Arto Lindsay)
5. Baritone
6. Spreading the Strings Out
7. Pro Model
8. Sunrise
9. Gitter
10. Longest Escalator in the World (ft. Arto Lindsay)

Latest Coverage