The xx's Romy Announces Solo Debut Album 'Mid Air'

Hear the single "Loveher," produced by Fred again..

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jun 7, 2023

Things have been busy for the members of the xx lately: Oliver Sim released his album Hideous Bastard last year, Jamie xx just booked a Toronto show, and now Romy Madley Croft has announced her solo debut as Romy. Mid Air will be out on September 8 via Young, and the single "Loveher" is streaming now.

Romy worked with Jamie xx on the album, as well as producers Fred again.. and Stuart Price. Beverly Glenn-Copeland is a featured guest on the title track, and he's also featured on the previously released single "Enjoy Your Life." Prior single "Strong" is included here, although debut solo track "Lifetime" isn't.

Romy described the album as "emotional music to dance to" — which is certainly true of the Fred again..-produced queer anthem "Loveher." This song was apparently the genesis of Mid Air, and it appears as the opening track. Check out the song below, and see the Mid Air tracklist below that.

Meanwhile, the xx also have new material in the works.

Mid Air:

1. Loveher
2. Weightless
3. The Sea
4. One Last Try
5. DMC
6. Strong (feat. Fred again..)
7. Twice
8. Did I
9. Mid Air (feat. Beverly Glenn-Copeland)
10. Enjoy Your Life
11. She's on My Mind

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage