National / Menomena Offshoot Pfarmers Return with Second Album

National / Menomena Offshoot Pfarmers Return with Second Album
The National and Menomena connection continues to bear new fruit, with offshoot project Pfarmers now due to release their second album in just over a year. Their Our Puram arrives August 12 via Joyful Noise Recordings.

As previously reported, the group comprises Menomena singer/multi-instrumentalist Danny Seim and the National's drummer Bryan Devendorf, as well as horn player Dave Nelson. The trio's next collection follows last year's Gunnera, and features eight news songs written by Seim after moving away from his hometown of Portland, OR, to Louisville, KY.

It's added in a press release that the collection focuses on the Rajneeshpuram community in 1980s central Oregon, and "the tragic nature of their story," which is filled with land battles, hotel bombings, bio-terror attacks and prejudice.

The collection is being teased with a stream of the steady-paced, horn-and-electronics-filled "Red Vermin." You can check out the tune below.

Pfarmers is one of two National/Menomena crossover projects to have popped up over the last little while. Last year, National frontman Matt Berninger and Menomena's Brent Knopf delivered a collaborative collection called Return to the Moon under the name EL VY.

Our Puram:

1. 97741
2. Tour Guide
3. Red Vermin
4. You're With Us
5. Sheela
6. The Commune
7. Osho Rising
8. Our Puram